Quiet Determination in Action

Why I Work ALL the Time

Posted in Hepatitis B and Liver Cancer, Personal Actions by missamyyu on July 13, 2009

There are those small moments when I’m reminded why I enjoy working all the time. Sure, I can blame it on the sheer amount of work that needs to be done or my boring life, but I believe I continuously work on hepatitis B related things because I believe that I can truly do good by working on this as much as I can. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think I can save the world by myself (wouldn’t that be awfully egotistical?), but I think that if I work that much harder each day, take 2 more minutes of my time to talk to someone about hepatitis B, I can save one more life.

Today, I went to Pho Night at a E.’s place. The pho was delicious, especially since it was homemade, and I ate two whole servings. He even had tripe to add to the pho – my favorite! While the crowd was primarily the usual med student crowd that I’ve come to know, my favorite part of the night was when I had the chance to meet S. and J., UCLA friends of E.’s. They work at PriceWaterhouse Cooper and Cisco respectively, and it was neat that I could actually relate to those companies. We also talked about the crazy new fad since Pinkberry in LA – Koji BBQ Truck (http://kogibbq.com/). Check it out – you shall be amazed. But what really made my night was when I was asked what I did at the Asian Liver Center (“Why Asian livers?), and I got S. and J. to consider getting screened for hepatitis B, and gave them a little bit of hep B education and liver cancer facts. S. followed with a “Do you get paid for this – talking to people outside of work about hep B?” and Y. jumped in and said: “No, it’s about passion for a cause.” That really warmed my heart. And made me realize, that yeah, I do this all the time because I am passionate about getting rid of hep B, and I want to make sure others at least protect themselves and their loved ones.

On another note: can’t believe YLC is in THREE weeks. C. and I need to seriously buckle down and start working our tails off. I really want this conference to be a blast for the students.

I was super excited to see the Jade Ribbon Campaign bag in the Ranch 99 in-store flyer (http://www.99ranch.com/) check it out (Northern California in-store promotions). I toted around my JRC bag on Friday while I got groceries. Those things come in handy. haha. I bought so much mochi and boxed Asian drinks – delicious!

And an update on med school apps: sent the amcas primary in at the beginning of july. working on the texas primary. and freaking out in general.

Went running today with C. I need to get new running shoes – couldn’t even make it halfway around Campus Drive, and my feet were dying. Guess I’ll just have to suck it up and put down a good wad of money for good running shoes (I’m looking at Mizuno Alchemy 8 running shoes). If you have any suggestions for someone who has wide feet, let me know.  Then went to the gym and lifted some weights; I am going to be so sore tomorrow.  We’ll see if I’ll be able to lift my arms past my shoulders.   One day I’ll be fit, too!  (After many painful hours…)

If you shop at Ranch 99 and live in the Bay Area – be on the look out of the Jade Ribbon Campaign grocery bag!  We’re havin a kick-off at the Cupertino store on Friday, July 24th @ 3 PM with Miss Asian America.  Roll out and support!

And to wrap it up: Thanks for reading. Will be in touch soon.

Yours,
Amy

Leave a Reply

