Quiet Determination in Action

Day of Novelty and Reflection

Posted in Uncategorized by missamyyu on July 21, 2009

Hello Everyone,

So sorry that I missed yesterday’s posting.  Thanks for reading and for your interest in my work and my experiences.  Big shout out to SLC for his comment – really made my day.  It was the first comment for this blog! Hopefully I’ll be following SLC’s footsteps soon with a white coat of my own.

Speaking of white coats, I have a thoughtful NYtimes article (http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/21/health/21klas.html?partner=rss&emc=rss) that JK sent me about the dilemma that doctors face when they have to counsel on a health issue that they also struggle with themselves.   In this case, the physician provides a very human take how to deal with such a challenge.  It’s good food for thought for trying to practice what I preach, or at least admitting my own struggles with sustaining healthy habits.

On an exciting note, I’d like to highlight JC’s twitter about the 99 Ranch Market and Jade Ribbon Campaign effort.  He tweeted about his visit one of the 99 Ranch Market stores in the SF Bay Area, and even posted pictures.  Here is one of him with one of our Know HBV brochures (available in 6 languages and free of charge!).  Thanks to JC for helping create increased conversation and awareness about hepatitis B and liver cancer!

JC in 99 Ranch with Know HBV brochure

JC in 99 Ranch with Know HBV brochure

Twitter has actually been an interesting tool to use for hepatitis B work.  As I’m taking these courses on Web 2.0 social media tools and branding, I’ve been approaching these social media platforms with an idea in mind of how I can utilize such a platform to advance hepatitis B awareness.  This seems like an untapped frontier, and I’d like to help begin to create a space for hep B awareness.  In fact, our YLC (which is in 17 DAYS!!) will focus on this.  I know that most of my target audience (older Asian immigrants) do not use twitter or similar platforms; however, I see the value of targeting their children and grandchildren who do use such programs as a means to reach them.  As I mentioned in my last post, having a relative or friend encourage their loved ones to get screened for hepatitis B will be so much more effective than I will ever be.

And as a side note, I have been using Twitter as a great tool to address anyone’s questions or concerns about hepatitis B and liver cancer through their tweets.  It’s fantastic!  Thanks, Tweetdeck’s great features.

As promised, a brief update on UP’s Vietnamese Parish Festival event.  Although the number of people she and the volunteers saw wasn’t a huge number, they did provide quality education, which, in the end, is the purpose of outreach.  Apparently, the weather was very hot, and attendance at the festival was low.  However, I’m glad UP had the chance to run her own festival outreach event!

I spent most of the day (Monday) meeting with TC, NT, and UP about their various outreach projects, and I am happy to say that they are doing a fantastic job building relationships and foundations within their respective ethnic communities.  Outreach work often has no immediate and tangible outcomes because our goals include developing behavior change.  Furthermore, in order to really get into a particular community, building relationships with important community leaders and stakeholders requires time and patience.  So, I hope they too recognize the great work they are doing to create a strong foundation for future outreach in the Korean, Filipino, and Vietnamese communities.

I also spent time on prepping with for the press conference on Friday contacting media and working on ad promotions.  First 100 people who go to the Cupertino 99 Ranch Market on Friday between 2 PM and 6 PM and spend $50 or more will receive a free Jade Ribbon reusable bag!  We’re hoping that this will help draw a crowd for the bag’s launch.  I’m excited because 99 Ranch Market’s chief operating officer will be coming out to speak about their investment into building healthy communities!

And on a personal front, I learned how to create a dashed line in Photoshop.  A simple feature, but I’m always excited when I learn how to do something new. 🙂  And, last but not least, I’d like to tell C, happy 8th.

Thank you for reading!

Yours,

Amy

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Julie said, on July 22, 2009 at 12:40 am

    welcome to the world of blog posts! 🙂 i’m glad you found the nytimes article thoughtful. and the 99 ranch market campaign is super exciting!


Leave a Reply

