Quiet Determination in Action

Marathons and Eczema

Posted in Of Interest, Personal Actions by missamyyu on July 26, 2009

Hello!

Quick post today.  Woke up at 3:45 AM to drive CT to his first marathon in SF.  He finished in roughly 4.5 hours!  Congratulations!  Esp for not training! :p  Currently dead-tired even though I didn’t run the marathon.  Can’t wait to fall into bed and sleep.

Musings: The streets of Chinatown at 6:15 AM in the morning are rife with the smell of freshly baked pastries and the first batch of dim sum.  And beyond the distant sound of a lonely ambulance screaming its way to a destination, the thuds of vegetables being tossed into bins after inspection were the only sounds beyond the slap of my flip flops on the dirty, well-worn paths of Stockton street.  And the plumes of cigarrete smoke that shrouded the tough-skinned men squatting near an open Asian bakery trailed behind me as I searched for a place to sit and work in the Sunday early morning.   I eventually fell asleep in my car in Portsmouth garage, third level, next to the “Wisdom” character before trekking back to Folsom and Embarcadero to cheer CT’s finish in the hot sun.

More images of today to come later.  My hair is currently disgusting and my eyes are bruised and wrinkled from the abuse I give them while sleeping.  My allergies and eczema have been rather vicious lately, and I’m grateful for the brown tinge to my glasses to make the state of my eyes less painfully obvious.  When I look in the mirror, I see the eyes of an old woman: droopy, tired, and wrinkled with time (or fierce rubbing…).  And what’s even better, JK sent me a NYtimes article entitled “My Eczema, My Shame.”  I thought it amusing that it was in my inbox today.   How fitting.   Though my eczema is not as severe as the authors, many of her mannerisms and experiences mirror my own habits and self-doubts.  Thanks to the author for the beautiful piece, and thanks JK for sending it!

Okay, off to sleep.  More posts to come about this past week.  Thank you for reading!

Yours,
Amy

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Julie said, on July 26, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    what a beautiful description of the morning in chinatown!


Leave a Reply

