Quiet Determination in Action

At the Computer

Posted in Hepatitis B and Liver Cancer, Personal Actions by missamyyu on August 21, 2009

Hi Reader,

Overview: ALC website update, YLC section overhaul, delicious Indian Food, Twitter things, and weekend highlights!  I can’t believe it is already Friday.  As EN said in a tweet, this was the fastest week ever.  I’m looking forward to this weekend to have the opportunity to hammer out some more application things and for my picnic adventure.  Thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoy.

Asian Liver Center / Jade Ribbon Campaign Updates
Finished updating portions of the ALC website with pictures and some videos.  I’ve drawn satisfaction from the redesign of the Youth Leadership Conference portion of the website where it’s less text heavy, and more picture-heavy (although it can still be argued that there still is too much text).  It’s not completely done, but it will be soon after TC gets the team presentations uploaded onto our YouTube account.  He’s been working hard on them (editing and everything), so hopefully the students will enjoy them.  I’ve also updated with the 99 Ranch Market JRC reusable bag photos on our Flickr account as well.   Staring at the computer screen coding brings back fun memories of coding late into the night when html was still the new kid on the block.  Of course, this constant staring has also dried my eyes out (oi!).

I created a Jade Ribbon Campaign “twibbon” for those who use Twitter and would like to join the Jade Ribbon Campaign.  Basically it puts up a little icon on your Twitter icon indicating you support the cause.  There are a lot of various twibbons out there, so you can definitely explore.  Regardless of the social media platform, customization is always in style.   You can find the JRC twibbon here.  This is an example:

Going to help TC with a Korean Church education and screening this Sunday – that shall be fun!  Excitement for educating people.

Personal Commentary

Went out to fantastic Indian food last night at Amber India Restaurant in Mountain View with CT.  The food was delicious and the service was excellent.  I definitely reccommend it to anyone who enjoys good food.  I hope to return soon.

I’ve found that most of my news now consists of what I read in Twitter feeds.  It initially struck me as a bit odd considering that I used to get my news from browsing the NYTimes.com website (not that I don’t anymore, but with less frequency), but after a bit of thought it didn’t.  As we’re continuing to use social media to let our friends know of various news items we find important, these platforms become dynamic news sources instead of stagnant ones.  Now, I don’t have to go in search of news – it comes to me.  And, I can choose what things come to me through the people I follow.  Maybe I should begin following Kristof and Dowd so I at least get my daily dose of NYtimes.

I’ll be going on my picnic tomorrow with CT.  We’ll be headed out to Safeway to purchase the goods tonight, so I’m looking forward to that.  I’ll let you know how the picnic goes.

Personal Commentary
Went out to fantastic Indian food last night at Amber India Restaurant in Mountain View with CT.  The food was delicious and the service was excellent.  I definitely reccommend it to anyone who enjoys good food.  I hope to return soon.
I’ve found that most of my news now consists of what I read in Twitter feeds.  It initially struck me as a bit odd considering that I used to get my news from browsing the NYTimes.com website (not that I don’t anymore, but with less frequency), but after a bit of thought it didn’t.  As we’re continuing to use social media to let our friends know of various news items we find important, these platforms become dynamic news sources instead of stagnant ones.  Now, I don’t have to go in search of news – it comes to me.  And, I can choose what things come to me through the people I follow.  Maybe I should begin following Kristof and Dowd so I at least get my daily dose of NYtimes.
I’ll be going on my picnic tomorrow with CT.  We’ll be headed out to Safeway to purchase the goods tonight, so I’m looking forward to that.  I’ll let you know how the picnic goes.

Thanks for reading!
Amy

Leave a Reply

