Quiet Determination in Action

Hep B PSA and Picnics

Posted in Uncategorized by missamyyu on August 23, 2009

Helped with a perinatal hep B public service announcement filming that SC and CC are heading up for their perinatal hep B project. The extent of my role was dropping off an intern and seeting up the green room for the child actors; however, despite my small role, I did enjoy seeing AD and his crew set up their filming area.  I’m excited for the PSA because it will help to encourage mothers to make sure their newborns are vaccinated against hepatitis B and educate them on why their newborn should be vaccinated.  I’ve been doing some listening online via Twitter and mommy blogs, and have found that there is a great deal of misinformation (as with many things) about the hepatitis B vaccine and its safety and necessity.  If you’d like me to go into more detail, just email me and we chat about it.

I do enjoy getting up early because I feel so accomplished by noon.  Was able to get quite a bit done today in terms of errands, and the highlight of my morning was brunching with RN at Stacks.  Had the opportunity to catch up with him, and then got a delightful presentation about the perks of the Palm Pre.  I really like the multitask capability of the Palm Pre and its ability to synergistically pull together all your data together.  One thing that I’m thinking that the iPhone has is that I can take video and pictures on it easily to upload.  Does anyone have any thoughts?  I’d love to hear them.

After brunch, RN accompanied me to get Mizuno running shoes, and the strangest thing happened: bills of money rolled down the street toward me.  Normally, if I see a dime or a penny on the street, I feel a bit of giddiness; however, with these bills, I felt a sense of dread – I couldn’t find the owners of the money, and I felt guilty for having it in my hand.  So, I decided to give it to a homeless woman; hopefully, she put it to good use and got herself some food.  Hm, I forgot to ask her her name.

Went on a picnic dinner with CT at the Oval. Our plans to hike along Foothills Park’s trails were thwarted today by the lack of evidence that we live in Palo Alto.  We will need to return so we can see the scenic sites!  On a side note, avacados are a delicious addition to any food, especially sandwiches.  And the Stanford campus is just gorgeous.  I will definitely miss it when I’m no longer here.

Looking forward to the Korean Church Screening tomorrow,

Amy

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Christine said, on August 25, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Hey Amy-

    The Pre is an EXCELLENT choice. Though I don’t have a Pre (yet), uploading photos from my Palm Centro has always been a breeze. Here’s a snippet of a Pre review from CNET:

    “The Pre comes equipped with a 3-megapixel camera and an LED flash. The camera functions are about as basic as you can get. Flash options include on, off, or auto. To take a photo, you can either press the green onscreen button or use the space bar. That’s it; no effects or options to choose from various image sizes or resolutions. Also, there is no video recording at launch, but Palm has alluded to adding this feature in the future, which can be done through an over-the-air update. However, with the integrated GPS, the Pre can geotag photos.

    On back, you’ll find the Pre’s 3-megapixel camera and LED flash.
    To review your pictures, you can head over to your photo roll; from here, you’ll also be able to share images with friends via e-mail, multimedia message, or by uploading them to photo and social-networking sites like Photobucket and Facebook. Of course, a picture can also be used as your background image or for photo caller ID.

    We were impressed with the picture quality, though it takes some time for photos to render onscreen.

    Picture quality was quite impressive, though we thought otherwise at first. It takes a few seconds for pictures to render on screen, so immediately after taking pictures the photos looked extremely blurry. In reality, they were extremely sharp and colors were vibrant and rich, without any weird orange or grayish tones. Also, there was barely any lag from the time we pressed the capture button to the moment the photo was taken.”

    ***Plus, if you decide to switch to go with the Pre and get Sprint, I can hook you up with a really good 2-year plan ($59.99 per month for EVERYTHING + 500 anytime minutes)…compared to AT&T’s $400 per month everything plan for a 2-year contract…yuck!


Leave a Reply

