Quiet Determination in Action

Perspective, Proposals, and PSAs

Posted in Uncategorized by missamyyu on August 27, 2009

Hello,

Helped with a portion of the perinatal hepatitis B filming today – filming is definitely tiring!  I can’t wait to see the final product when it’s syndicated on television.  (The public service annoucnement (PSA) is targeted toward mothers and meant to encourage them to make sure that their child is protected against hepatitis B.)  The PSA is going to be pretty neat – but I don’t want to spoil it.  I play a small role – I’m the daughter who’s graduating, but man, even these small roles take quite a bit out of me!  Standing all day and smiling really takes work under the bright lights.  I suppose I was never made for the big screen.

Yesterday, I primarily worked on the ALC outreach plan for 2009-2010 and got some good feedback from Dr. So.  Need to re-tune the objectives of ALC outreach and focus more on broad impact projects.  It was good sitting down with Dr. So and going over the projects that are going on now and determining what is and isn’t working.  We’ll be rolling out more brochures in more Asian languages so that organizations that are working into those communities can have access to those brochures (which are completely free of charge and availble on the ALC website).  Currently looking at rolling out Hmong, Laos, and a revised version of the Tagalog brochure.  Other structural changes, but that will come with the new Outreach Coordinator (yes, we are hiring a new one, and I will be transitioning full time to corporate work – exciting!  I can’t wait to start back up on that with full force and energy.)

And just a small note about perspective: I changed where I sat yesterday, and it completely brought new things to my attention.  I think that we become too accustomed to how things work in our daily routine that we often don’t take the opportunity to look at things in a new light.  And that’s a pity! So, go sit somewhere different!

Thanks for reading.  Until next time,

Amy

Leave a Reply

