Quiet Determination in Action

Jade Ribbon Campaign and Miss Asian America 2009

Posted in Hepatitis B and Liver Cancer, Of Interest by missamyyu on August 29, 2009

Hi Everyone,

Wal-Mart in Fremont, CA donated $1,000 to the Jade Ribbon Campaign (specifically, LIVERight).  Thanks to SW for applying for this community grant and thank you to Wal-Mart for their generous contribution to supporting liver cancer and hepatitis B awareness.  When I went to accept the check, I had the opportunity to chat with a fantastic Filipina lady by the name of C.  She was pretty remarkable in that she worked two jobs, seven days a week and survived the death of her youngest son to liver cancer.  Hopefully we can work with her in some capacity on some Filipino hepatitis B outreach.

Jade Ribbon Campaign and the Fight against Hepatitis B
This week was the last week for our summer interns (how sad!), and we’ll be hiring the new team in late September.  I’ve seen three teams of interns during my time at the Asian Liver Center, and I’m always sad when they leave.  It’s been such a pleasure watching this team grow and learn new skills and gain confidence in their communication or team building techniques.   And, in turn, they also teach me a few lessons about how to be a better leader, how to communicate in a more direct and positive manner, and how to manage projects so that they feel an investment, and I can make sure that projects move forward.  Of course, I’m still learning, but I am indebted to the past three teams of interns for their great work and their inspriration.

Speaking of inspiration, I met with a trio from Saratoga High this week to discuss their ideas for a Jade Ribbon Campaign awareness club at their school.  It is really heartening to hear their enthusiasm and drive to create a club that makes a difference in their community.  The meeting was productive in that we identified potential projects they could undertake during the year and ideas for their weekly meetings so that the meetings are geared more toward education and not only volunteer opportunities.  We’re beginning to get a lot more high school clubs with each subsequent YLC, and they are all excited about coordinating efforts nationwide as well – letter writing campaigns, and a coordinated Hepatitis B Awareness Week.

I’ve been working with SC to create some sticker and box designs for Sheng Kee Bakery to raise more awareness about the Jade Ribbon Campaign – so that has been very fun.  I will post some of the designs up when they’re at a more finalized state.  If you have any ideas, feel free to message me!

Me at the Miss Asian America 2009 Pageant with Sugar Bowl Bakery Mr. and Mrs. Ly

Me at the Miss Asian America 2009 Pageant with Sugar Bowl Bakery Mr. and Mrs. Ly

And in line with pastries, this is a picture of me at the Miss Asian America pageant with Sugar Bowl Bakery CEO and his wife (who are both so incredibly nice!) pinning them with the Jade Ribbon!  Thank you again to Miss Asian America for their support of the Jade Ribbon Campaign.  Furthermore, there’s the Jade Ribbon dress ST made!  That was a pretty exciting night, although I was fairly exhausted since it was right after the last day of Youth Leadership Conference.

Multitasking – a Detriment to our Cognitive Abilities?

I was listening to NPR yesterday, and currently, a study by Professor Clifford Nass is all the rage because it indicates that individuals who engage in multimedia multitasking are often bad at it, AND, they pay a mental price for it.  From the study, it appears that those who multitask at high rate have difficulty in differentiating between relevant and irrelevant information; hence, multitasking on a media level (e.g. chatting via IM while writing an email, watching the television, and reading a NYtimes article) can have a detrimental impact on our cognitive abilities.  Makes me consider if I should be multitasking (of course, it’s so ingrained into how I operate, that I’m undergain how I can stop).  Here’s the article from NPR, and a transcript of an interview with Professor Nass.

Next post: Tweetups.

Thanks for reading,
Amy

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sandra said, on August 29, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    it’s the dress! =) do u have any full-length pics from the front? I wanted to send it to J…although I guess I can always show her when she comes up in Oct too!

    • missamyyu said, on August 30, 2009 at 9:04 pm

      no, not yet! I’m still trying to track one down. I will let you know as soon as I do!


Leave a Reply

