Quiet Determination in Action

Writing and Reading

Posted in Hepatitis B and Liver Cancer, Of Interest, Personal Actions by missamyyu on September 1, 2009

Hello,

In Lane Library of the Stanford medical school campus.  I’m taking a week off from work to work on and finish my secondary applications for medical school.   Wish me luck!  (and luck to those who are working on them as well – this goes out to you, GH)

Hepatitis B and Jade Ribbon Campaign Updates
Our Jade Ribbon Youth Council 2009-2010 application is due this week, and I am looking forward to reading them.  And although I won’t be directly working with the students this year, I am still excited about what they will potentially accomplish this year, and helping them coordinate with high school groups from across the nation.

We’re also opening up academic year internships at the Asian Liver Center this week.  If you’re interested in applying, feel free to email me (amyyu@stanford.edu).

Me at a TweetUp in Silicon Valley - here's me with two great guys from Intel

Me at a TweetUp in Silicon Valley - here's me with two great guys from Intel

Social Media Fun

Attended a Tweet Up last week hosted by Michael Brito on Santana Row.  I had a great time meeting new people and connecting with other social media influencers.  Tweetups are a fantastic idea – you have the opportunity to meet face-to-face with individuals who are the doers and the movers in terms of social media.  Plus, everyone is so kind and willing to listen to your story.  As a person from a non-profit organization, it’s a great way for me to raise awareness and make connections so that I can learn about new ways to leverage social media to eradicate hepatitis B and make some good friends at the same time.

Religious Thought
I had the opportunity to chat with one of my religious studies professors yesterday, and he brought to my attention an interesting new phenomena that has grown popular as of late: The New Atheists.  Essentially, they attack organized religion and see religion as the root of evil and what causes war and subordination.  Now, I don’t disagree that fundamentalist thinking does lead to such violence, but from what I gleaned off the internet and from my professor, it seems that these New Atheists don’t quite give religion its due respect.  I’ll need to pick up their books and then read Terry Eagleton’s polemic against the New Atheists’ assertions.  What’s interesting about Eagleton is that he isn’t particuarly religious himself.  He gave a lecture series at Yale, which I’ll listen to, and post later.   Let me know if you’ve read anything about this / have any thoughts – I would love to hear them.

Alright, back to writing.  Thank you for reading,

Amy

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. supriyanna said, on September 1, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    I haven’t studied it academically, but I also am fascinated by anti-religion atheism. I think the sticking point is whether fundamentalist beliefs are actually “fundamental” to the religion, and of course, how anyone can identify what is and isn’t “fundamental”. I’d love to read more of your thoughts on this!

    • missamyyu said, on September 2, 2009 at 1:59 am

      Thanks for your response, Supriya! I think you hit it right on the head with your comment about whether or not fundamentalist beliefs are truly fundamental to the tenants of a religion. I will definitely post more on this when I get a chance to read the books, and hopefully we can chat about it some time.


Leave a Reply

